Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Emily tutors in Austin, TX

Emily S.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Emily S.518

18 reviews

Education

University of Texas at Austin - Bachelor degrees in both Spanish and Communication Studies, 3.7 GPA

Experience

Most students aren't taught how to study according to their own learning style (by sight, sound, or touch). I can present the information in multiple ways until I figure out how my students learn most efficiently. I also help them understand how to study, memorize, and write on their own! My goal is to help students not need my help by the end of the semester. My teaching style is patient, lighthearted, and upbeat - I can almost always make my students laugh! I hope to show them that even learning their hardest subject doesn't have to be miserable. I work to make it relevant to them by helping them understand the "why" behind the rules and concepts of each subject, so they do not quickly forget the material. My Experience: - 8 years tutoring students from elementary school to college, to adults seeking to learn Spanish/English. - High school salutatorian - Experience tutoring students with ADD and dyscalculia (math learning disability) - 10 community service/missions trips to Spanish-speaking countries with lots of practice in conversational speaking Other experiences include: - aiding incoming freshmen at UT Austin as an Orientation Advisor, which included conveying large amounts of information - working for the UT Learning Center teaching classes on time management and study skills - Resident Assistant at my dormitory, Scottish Rite - academic mentoring with the Athletics Department at UT, helping my student with writing and general study/organizational skills - acting as a camp counselor for kids in elementary school

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love to read, and I love the arts (including music, dancing, painting and theater). I work with the women's recovery ministry at Gateway Church, and I am a part of the church's writing and publication team. My husband and I are big fans of The Walking Dead, Cards Against Humanity, and the Alamo Drafthouse!

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!