Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Frederick tutors in Austin, TX

Frederick C.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

I obtained an A.A.S. degree in General Studies while studying at my hometown at Germanna Community College from 2010 to 2012, with a final GPA of 3.294. Afterwards, I attended James Madison University for five years while pursuing a B.S. degree in Kinesiology (the study of human movement). I finished with a GPA of 3.467. Now, my future sights are set on going to Occupational Therapy school, but I am on a break for a little while and broadening my horizons in the workforce.

Experience

I tutored for a year and a half at James Madison University's Athletic Performance Center and personally for a friend of a friend. Prior to that, I started my tutoring in high school after I realized I was pretty strong in the math field. I scored 4 on my A.P. Calculus exam, which was one of my favorite classes, and I scored about 1650 on my SAT score. I really like to help people understand the content they are studying; I want to see others succeed and experience the "a-ha" moments! In addition, I simply enjoy working one-on-one with others. Most of my future career will involve helping people in some shape or form. I have taken Calculus (regular); Calculus AP; Calculus multi-variable; Human Physiology; Human Anatomy; Chemistry (I and II); Physics; 5 classes of Spanish (including Beginning Spanish II in college); Anatomy and Physiology (3 times); College Composition I and II; Creative Writing; 7 Habits of Highly Effective Students workshop; and basically every other general education class known to man! I used to be a martial arts instructor assistant for a few years, and I obtained a peer education facilitation certification a couple years ago. I still practice using most of what I have learned to this day.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In terms of my tutoring style, I like to accommodate how the student operates. People tend to think and study different, and most people can learn substantially more when they know that they have someone in their corner rooting for them. I encourage the heart and brain; if I can get the student to understand the material and enjoy their day a little bit better, I would prefer to focus on that and let them practice however much they see they would need it. For me, tutoring seems more of a challenge of how to motivate people and get them to appreciate the material they are studying, rather than treat the subject material as simple grunt work. In terms of my hobbies, I enjoy close to everything and have a relatively open mind for just about anything. I love outdoor activities like rock climbing and kayaking, and I enjoy exploring unknown territories around my hometown. I have a pretty weird sense of humor, but it really helps people remember me. A lot of people call me "smiley" because I smile a lot.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!