Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Scott tutors in Austin, TX

Scott V.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

I just recently graduated from Purdue University in West Lafayette, IN. I majored in Mechanical Engineering for my first two years, but then decided I wanted to go to Medical School, so I started taking a lot of science classes. I graduated with a B.S. in Interdisciplinary Engineering- Pre-Med Concentration with a 3.75 in May of 2014, with plans to go to medical school in the Fall of 2015. I am currently employed at Pharmaceutical Product Development in Austin, Texas.

Experience

I now have about 2 years worth experience tutoring and teaching. I first started tutoring the Spring of my Junior year for our athletic department at Purdue. I did that through the rest of the time I was there and tutored students in biology, calculus, physics, inorganic chemistry, engineering, and history. I also was a teaching assistant for our freshman biology course the fall and spring semesters of my senior year. I really enjoy helping students get the most out of their educations, and it is exciting when students learn to approach problems from new perspectives. My teaching style varies greatly depending on the student, as I do my best to meet them where they are. My number one goal is to always improve a student's attitude towards learning and get them excited about what they are doing, as that is probably the most important thing. Outside of that I try to work with each student's strengths and weaknesses and focus on study skills and thinking strategies to help them get the most out of their work. I can work with students of any age, although I have had most of my experience with college students.

Availability

Weekdays after 4PM, Weekends in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I love sports- I was a long distance runner my first two years for Purdue's Cross Country and Track and Field team. Since I retired from running due to injury, I have also gotten into cycling. My real passion lies in anything health related, and I also enjoy reading and writing in my free time.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!