Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Cassandra tutors in Austin, TX

Cassandra K.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Cassandra K.544

44 reviews

Education

The Ohio State University - BA, BA, Hispanic Linguistics, Sociology , New York University- Madrid - MA, Applied Linguistics

Experience

I attended Ohio State University, where I received my B.A. in Hispanic Linguistics and a B.A. in Sociology. I then graduated from NYU, where I studied abroad in Madrid, and received my M.A. in Applied Linguistics. Currently, I'm a PhD candidate at UT-Austin, where I study the Sociology of Language and Hispanic Sociolinguistics. I've spent 13 years studying Spanish, both at home and abroad, and I am most passionate about teaching foreign languages. I've taught and tutored extensively while enrolled in higher ed, both in the U.S. and in Spain. I tutored Spanish during undergrad, taught Spanish I-III to high school students, and taught English as a Foreign Language privately in Spain. Language learning is an immersive, all-encompassing activity, which extends beyond just memorizing grammar and mechanics. To learn a language, one must learn how to communicate and understand the people and culture associated with the language. For this reason, my teaching strategies include creating games and activities that have real-world applications. Teaching is as much about student interests as it is about concepts, so I always adapt my lessons to include topics that students find exciting and relatable. I like to address the reasons why a student wants to learn the language in my teaching methods, as well.In addition to language, I also enjoy hip hop, ballroom dancing, traveling, being outdoors, and doing yoga.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

dance, travel, yoga, the outdoors

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!