Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Lara tutors in Austin, TX

Lara K.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

Graduate from California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo, with a degree in Recreation Parks and Tourism Administration and concentration in Special Event Management (2011) College GPA 3.7, High School GPA 4.1

Experience

I want to be a tutor because I love to help kids gain confidence in general, but if you are good at something in school it can really be a game changer. I have always loved working with kids! I grew up being a counselor at church day camps, and that eventually turned into being a camp counselor in Michigan over the summer after I graduated from college. I own my own business as a wedding planner, but after having been both a counselor and nanny, I am missing the interaction with kids. My favorite subject was always math. I loved finding the pattern of a problem and using another pattern to solve it. It was always so rewarding to find the right answer. My ideal tutoring situation would be very personalized, where I would set up a meeting with the child's teacher and walk through what they are being taught and the child's specific difficulties on previous tests in the subject. That way I know first hand what needs to be worked on and how I can customize the learning process just for your child.

Availability

Weekdays at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I am one of three girls, and grew up in a very athletic household (my dad was a Super Bowl champion in the 80's) so I grew up playing just about every sport you can think of (even a women's doubles champion badminton player if you can believe it!) My main sport was volleyball, and ended up giving my spot at middle blocker up my senior year so I could coach the younger team. I have a big sweet tooth, I love working with kids, and I really love my job as a wedding planner, a job I had been pursuing since I was only 7 years old. In high school I was that kid who did everything - I was on ASB, Leadership, played sports, got straight A's, homecoming princess ever year... you name it. I really didn't struggle through school, but my little sister (who is only 13 months younger) didn't have a great experience, in fact she almost didn't graduate. I can relate to either side!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!