Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jessalyn tutors in Austin, TX

Jessalyn B.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Jessalyn B.511

11 reviews

Education

University of Southern California - BA, Philosophy , The University of Texas at Austin - MA (ABD for PhD), Philosophy

Experience

I studied at the University of Southern California, where I got my Bachelor of Arts degree. I received Honors from my department, as well as a Discovery Scholar's award for my independent study work. I got my Master of Arts degree in Philosophy from UT-Austin, where I also received my Ph.D. While working toward my doctorate degree, I taught a number of classes. I'm also a certified Social Studies teacher for middle-to-high-school students. Presently, I teach Ethics to sophomores at St. Edwards University. I've spent time developing a number of personal values as an educator. I push students to ask questions, and I create interactive, innovative learning environments that integrate a variety of strategies for presenting course materials. There has to be a mix of activities that encourage comprehension, give tangible examples, and provide hands-on practice. I encourage students' morale and confidence as learners, and also push them to stay constantly curious. I do this by at first learning about what students already understand and are interested in, before focusing on what they still have yet to learn. Teaching is also about interpersonal skills, and I try to get to know my students on a personal level to get a better sense of how they work, what they find exciting, and what they find challenging. This allows me to tailor my instruction to their needs. I enjoy pastimes that stimulate my mind and sense of wonder. I love sci-fi and fantasy! I play World of Warcraft, watch Star Trek, and love fantasy novels (like Harry Potter and the Narnia series). I love to cook, sing, and spend time with my friends/fam. I also love just relaxing at home with my husband and cats.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

World of Warcraft, Star Trek, Harry Potter, Yoga, Camping, Reading, Singing

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!