Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Leighton tutors in Austin, TX

Leighton S.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Leighton S.44

4 reviews

Education

The University of Texas at Austin - BA, English

Experience

I am a recent graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, where I earned a bachelor's degree in English and a minor in French. I have over one year of experience working with a wide variety of young children, from students with special needs to those in advanced placement classes. I tailor my lessons when tutoring to every student's personal learning style. My absolute favorite subject is History, because the subject is a combination of languages, culture, economics, and narratives. I also specialize in teaching French, because I studied it for four years in college. In addition, I studied Latin for two years, Russian for one year, and Attic Greek for one semester. I also specialize in tutoring Biology, Physiology, and Anatomy. I have also always had a natural knack for writing and editing and have mastery of English grammar, syntax, and essay structure. I believe that strong English-language skills, especially great grammar skills, are important to master before learning a new language. I developed my own study methods while learning languages, and not only did they help me learn more easily, but I discovered that the same methods are a great help when studying other subjects. These study skills are based on top-level memorization, recall, and retention of materials, and they work wonderfully when preparing for tests. In my free time, I love martial arts, creating sculptures, online gaming, and practicing calligraphy. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Art, theatre, music, rock climbing, and cooking

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!