Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Matt tutors in Austin, TX

Matt L.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

MS in Physics w/Chemistry minor, Texas State University 2001 4.0 physics GPA and 3.81 overall.

Experience

I am an engineer with Silicon Labs in Austin. My education in Physics/Chemistry /Mathematics required numerous math, physics and chemistry courses including: Calculus I, ll and lll; Differential Equations; College Algebra; General Chemistry I and ll; Physical Chemistry l and ll; Organic Chemistry l and ll and various graduate level chemistry and physics courses. I received an award for Academic Achievement during my graduate studies in physics in 2000. I've been tutoring since 1999, working with middle, high school and college students in various mathematics, physics and chemistry courses. I am passionate about the sciences and mathematics and am committed to my students' success. I've recently worked with college students in Calculus 1 and General Chem I, high school students in AP Geometry, AP Chemistry and Pre-cal and an 8th grader in Pre-AP Algebra. I know many students have difficulty with math and science. I try to identify their issues and develop successful strategies that build their confidence and competence. It's important to build a strong relationship with my students so they enjoy working with me and trust me. Therefore, my style will vary depending on the individual student's needs and personality. I work in Austin and live in New Braunfels so I'm usually available after 4:00 during the week in the Austin area or south through New Braunfels. I'm just a few blocks away from UT, St. Eds and Huston-Tillotson so easily accessible. I'm usually quite flexible and can meet on weekends occasionally or even Skype. I'm also available to work in small groups if preferred and will adjust rates accordingly. Give me a call or drop a note and let's see what I can help you with. Thanks!

Availability

Weekdays after 4PM, Weekends in the morning, Weekdays in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I have 31, 16 and 14 year old children, the last two which keep me pretty busy. I enjoy learning new things and at any given point may have several books on different subjects going (science and math of course, being passions for me). Music has always been an integral part of my life (I play guitar) and I enjoy the outdoors, good food, fast cars and the mountains. My wife and I are also very interested in promoting STEM education at all levels

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!