Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Calaya tutors in Austin, TX

Calaya V.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

M.A. in International Studies (International Education Focus) Concordia University, Irvine (2016 est.) B.A. in Global Studies (International Relations focus) Minor - Social Change & Public Advocacy North Central College (2010) Certificate in International Relations Kadir Has University (2008) Certificate in Japanese Language & Culture Kyoto Gakuen University (2007) Certificate in Chinese Language & Culture Beijing Foreign Studies University (2007)

Experience

TESOL Certified (Concordia University, Irvine 2011) Private Tutor [English, ESL, Editing, Writing, Essay Writing, Social Studies; K-12, Adults] China, Japan, Turkey, USA (2007-Present) ESL Teacher [Age 4 - 13] TopLearning Shanghai, China (Jan 2015 - June 2015) Head ESL Teacher [Age 3 - 16] Scholaris Academy Shanghai, China (Oct 2013 - Dec 2014) English & Social Studies Instructor [Grade 4 & Grace 5] Dance Instructor [Grade 2 - 9] Shanghai Pinghe International Bilingual School Shanghai, China (Aug 2011 - June 2013) ESL Teaching Assistant Summer Language Institute, North Central College Naperville, IL (Summer 2008) Dance Instructor [tap, jazz, ballet, basic movement] Naperville Park District Naperville, IL (Oct 2009 - June 2011) American Model United Nations, Malaysian Representative (First Committee, Chicago 2009) National Model United Nations, Croatian Delegate (IAEA, New York City 2010) ACT Score: 29 (2006)

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

My hobbies and interests are mostly activities which challenge me to be more self-expressive and creative, and think critically. This includes things like learning languages, photography, choreographing, writing, reading, and studying film. As you can probably tell from my educational and personal background I am an avid student of international relations and cultural exchange. I encourage my curiosity in this area by traveling the globe, seeking out foreign friends (not only for their point of view but also to challenge my own assumptions), volunteering to embolden others to explore their world, studying geography, reading foreign literature and media, watching foreign films, and listening to foreign music. Also, I'm a very active person and enjoy biking, hiking, swimming and dancing. When life gets too hectic, I use meditation, cooking, painting, and crafting to relax.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!