Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rebecca tutors in Austin, TX

Rebecca B.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

I hold a Bachelor of Arts degree in History from the University of Illinois at Chicago, where I focused on twentieth-century European history, specifically Germany and Russia. I have academic background in creative writing, literature, and art history as well. I graduated cum laude overall and summa cum laude in my major.

Experience

I'm currently an Assistant Editor at a well-known women's lifestyle blog. I have a cadre of freelancers who I edit, and my job is (obviously) extremely writing-heavy. I have tutored high school world history in the past. I'm a thorough researcher and writer, and my job requires me to be an excellent reader. I'm happy to tutor in history and English, but more than anything, I'm here to teach study, research, reading, and writing skills at the high school level and above. I had the good fortune to go to a high school where I was trained to read and write analytically, and I would like to help high school and college students to hone those skills. It makes a world of difference in college. I also can be of assistance to students who have ADD/ADHD. I was diagnosed with it when I was thirteen and I understand the challenges it imposes on students. I've built my academic and professional life in such a way that it takes advantage of the best parts of ADHD (creative problem solving, extraordinary and sort of compulsive focus on details) while working around its pitfalls (not being able to focus for long periods of time). Although I'm mostly interested in working with high school and college-aged students, if you're a parent of a middle-school student who has been diagnosed with ADD or ADHD and you'd like a tutor who can help them build good study habits, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Availability

Thursday after 3PM, Saturday in the morning, Sunday in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I'm an avid reader, I love comic books and video games, I'm a huge art nerd, museums are my jam. I also live a fairly active lifestyle, and I love food. I've worked in LGBT activism since I was 14. I have a lot to say about music and the music industry in particular - I studied music production and management for my first year of college. I also love the outdoors.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!