Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Mark tutors in Austin, TX

Mark W.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

University of Iowa BA American History 1970 University of Iowa MSW 1976 Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts-various classes, non-degree1990-1996 Austin Community College Spanish I and II-recently

Experience

I am semi-retired looking to add to my income and to engage in meaningful employment to do so. I have engaged in individual and group tutoring as a substitute teacher, but have not done "formal" 1:1 tutoring. I enjoy teaching and the interactions that I have with students. I gain satisfaction from seeing "the light go on" when a student gets it. As a substitute teacher I worked as a long-term sub in a combination K-1st grade classroom. I also have taught almost every subject in grade levels. My primary employment was as a clinical social worker providing therapy for emotionally disturbed adolescents which has helped me in establishing rapport with a wide range of people of different ages. In therapy rapport and relationship are key to success and I believe this to be true of teaching as well. A strong supportive relationship can serve as a basis for providing motivation and success. I currently work part-time at the Texas Criminal Justice Coalition answering letters from Texas prisoners seeking information on services. I act as a sort of clearinghouse directing them to the place(s) they are most likely to acquire what they are seeking. Through this work I've become active in seeking change to the criminal justice system as it presently operates. I think it important to note that I have raised three children who have become fairly successful as adults. I think that being a parent is an excellent venue for acquiring skills that help one to connect with children.

Availability

Weekdays after 2PM, Weekends in the morning

Can Meet

Up to 5 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I enjoy movies, music, reading, my dog, and love sports although I am past the participatory stage. I am more into college sports and a strong supporter of the University if Iowa. I did a bit of acting in the Williamstown Theatre Festival and in a community theatre which I thoroughly enjoyed. I learned a great deal about what goes into putting on a play. I'm low-key with a dry sense of humor and possess the ability to laugh at myself. I enjoy having fun, but I recognize that there is a time to be serious and do not have trouble providing supportive structure. I chose social work over teaching because I wanted to work with troubled teens and because I have a commitment to public service and a strong sense of social consciousness. *I would like 24 hours notice of cancellation and prefer no last minute rush sessions.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!