Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jonathan tutors in Austin, TX

Jonathan P.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

I am a current sophomore at William Marsh Rice University studying Chemical Engineering and Asian Studies. GPA 3.74, relevant coursework includes: Ordinary Differential Equations and Linear Algebra, Multivariable Calculus, Honors Chemistry, Introduction to Scientific Research Challenges, Original Beauty of Chinese Literature, and Chinese Novels and their Film Adaptations.

Experience

I love explaining things to people and breaking down concepts into digestible bits! I have experience as a Teaching Assistant of a university research course, guiding freshmen teams in executing a one-semester (cutting edge!) research project. My approach to teaching science has been to position myself as an equal to students in learning together and working through problems together. Lecturing and cramming can only get one so far – rote memorization will get a student through one test or quiz, of course - building a full understanding of the required content knowledge and their interrelations is far more important for establishing a strong foundation. Thus, allowing students to have firsthand experience deriving formulae and working through the logic of a problem is paramount to their learning process. A little bit about me - I was born in California, then moved to Taiwan at age 5. I am a bilingual native speaker of both English and Mandarin and attended a bilingual public school in Taiwan and graduated from the same school where I entered the first grade. Mandarin Chinese, both vernacular and classical, was a mandatory part of my curriculum from first grade through senior year. Culturally, I have a full understanding of the basic cultural background of Sinosphere countries, having lived in one of them for 13 years. Given my ethnic background, I am strongly interested in East Asian culture and history and have completed relevant coursework in this field as well. I'd love to be a tutor or conversation partner and engage in cultural education as well! Scores: SAT 2340/PSAT 216 Critical Reading (800/70), Math (800/76), Writing (740/70) AP: Calculus BC (5, AB Subscore 5), Biology (5), Chemistry (5), Statistics (5), Psychology (5), Physics C Electricity & Magnetism (5), Physics C Mechanics (4), US History (5), English Language (5), English Literature (4) SAT II: Math 2 (800), Biology M (800), Physics (780), US History (740)

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 10 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my free time, I love dancing, singing, cooking, baking, jogging, calligraphy, craftwork, good fries, and M&Ms (there are now vegan peanut M&Ms!). I spend a lot of my time deep in thought as well, pondering questions of environmental sustainability, futurism, the post-animal bioeconomy, veganism, social justice and intersectional feminism.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!