Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Erin tutors in Austin, TX

Erin F.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

The University of Texas at Austin Bachelor of Journalism Bachelor of Fine Arts, Dance Graduated May 2016 3.97 GPA

Experience

2160 SAT Score I would love to be a tutor for the opportunity to help younger students find their potential and discover interests they never knew they had. I want to impart my experience and skills, so that students will be equipped to succeed not only in their school lives, but in their personal lives as well. I would like to be an encouraging presence for students, so that they wouldn't be intimidated or discouraged by their schooling, but excited at their own progress. I took a number of classes that required peer essay editing - and a number of classes for which I helped fellow students out of the pure enjoyment for doing so. In my dance classes, I learned to teach other students specific and intricate choreography; my experience teaching dance has influenced and informed how I teach academic subjects. I've even taken a pedagogy class (the study of child education), which has equipped me with techniques and approaches for young people of various ages. I am a published writer. I had an internship with Texas Parks and Wildlife Magazine during Summer 2015, and regularly wrote articles for publication. Now I am a freelance writer for Arts + Culture Magazine, writing for a broad audience.

Availability

Monday in the afternoon, Tuesday in the afternoon, Thursday after 2PM, Friday in the morning, Wednesday in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 25 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 45 minutes away for a flat fee

Hobbies

I am the kind of person who likes exposure to new people, places, and ways of thinking. I am always finding some new little niche in Austin, whether it's a coffee shop, park, or friend's home. I love visiting people. As an avid writer, I am quite the listener, and am energized by hearing other people's stories. I am artsy. I've always got one eye peeled for how to decorate the apartment, and an ear perked for the best piano music. I love dancing and spending hours in the studio, as well as going to performances to explore other's talents. I like knitting. I actually have a semi-serious goal of starting an online knitted hat shop. Why not!

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!