Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Amanda tutors in Austin, TX

Amanda B.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

M.Ed., Curriculum & Instruction, Texas A&M University B.A., English, Texas A&M University

Experience

I love teaching! This is my fifth year as a certified English Language Arts, Reading and ESL teacher, and my tenth year as a tutor for many, many other subjects. I currently teach high school English for Speakers of Other Languages and Read 180, and I co-teach Algebra 1 and World History. I also really love learning. Before my high school graduation, I sat down and thought about what professions there were where I could continue doing "school stuff" (reading, writing, learning new things) forever. Teaching was really the only choice for me. I received my BA in English from Texas A&M University in 2010 and my M.Ed. in Curriculum & Instruction in 2011. I would have liked to have double-majored in Spanish, and although I wasn't able to due to the additional coursework, I have studied Spanish throughout high school and up through junior-level coursework in college. I have also participated in, judged, coached and sponsored high school debate for the last ten years. My favorite thing about teaching and tutoring is being able to have fun with learning. I don't do long lectures, I don't do rote memorization, and I never lose my patience or my temper. I do insist that each student give me his or her very best effort every day, and I know that my students expect the very best from me as well, including flexibility with teaching strategies, putting in overtime, and doing whatever it takes to help them be successful. I would love to tutor you or your child in English, ESL, reading, writing, composition, literature, or speaking (6th-college), math (6th-Algebra 1), social studies (6th-10th), Spanish 1 or 2, SAT/ACT prep (I scored a 34 on my ACT and a 2300 on my SAT), or piano (I've been playing piano for 20 years). Good study habits and organizational skills are also important, and I am more than willing to provide those in my tutoring sessions. What my students learn from me is not just English or math or any other subject. It's a new way of life, either through learning a new language or learning that education is the key to a better future. I hope to be able to pass those lessons along to my new tutoring students. Thank you for your consideration.

Subject Expertise

Availability

Weekdays after 5PM, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

In my spare time I enjoy cooking, studying French, reading and swimming.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!