Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jennifer tutors in Austin, TX

Jennifer D.

Private tutor in Austin, TX

Education

University of Massachusetts, Boston - Bachelors of Science, Biochemistry , Georgetown University - PhD, Tumor (Cancer Biology)

Experience

Tutoring is one of the most satisfying jobs I have ever had. I love helping students improve their understanding of a particular subject. My best subject is biology, since I am currently an adjunct professor teaching biology. I have been tutoring since my undergraduate days at the University of Massachusetts, where I helped fellow students with genetics lessons. That experience stayed with me, and I continued to tutor through graduate school at Georgetown. I focus especially on working with college students at both the graduate and undergraduate level. I can tutor biology, chemistry (organic and general), microbiology, biostatistics, and writing skills. I like to incorporate media into my tutoring sessions, including new media like blog posts, podcasts, and interactive websites. Today's students are familiar with these forms of media, and I believe these resources can help them forge a connection with the material that improves their understanding. I try to be flexible and caring in my approach to students, and I enjoy learning about them as individuals. This helps me learn what they need and the best way for me to help them. When material is presented in a different way outside the classroom, students can get a better grasp on the information. When I'm not tutoring, I am training for my next marathon.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

My educator interests include Science Education for Graduate and Undergraduate students. My social interests include health promotion and running. I am in training for my first marathon in Fall 2011.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!